• UPDATE:  The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) was signed into law on December 10, 2015. This new law replaces the No Child Left Behind Act. As a result, effective August 1, 2016, the waiver mentioned below is no longer in place for the Pennsylvania Department of Education (PDE). However, the list of Priority and Focus schools will remain the same during the 2016-17 and 2017-18 school years. Although the information below is outdated, it is kept on this page so visitors of this page have the history of Focus and Priority schools. The current accountability structure will remain in place until the PDE submits their Accountability Plan to the federal government in September 2017. Once the PDE's plan is approved, a new accountability structure will be announced and language below will be replaced.   
    On Aug. 20, 2013, the Pennsylvania Department of Education (PDE) received waivers from ten requirements of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) of 1965, as amended by No Child Left Behind (NCLB) of 2001. This new waiver, the ESEA Flexibility Waiver, replaces Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) with an improved accountability system.
    Beginning with the 2013-14 school year, PDE will no longer use Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) to determine a school’s designation. Instead, in accordance with the ESEA Flexibility Waiver, PDE will use four Annual Measurable Objectives (AMOs) to determine a school’s designation. The four AMOs include: 
    1. measuring test participation rate; 
    2. graduation rate for high schools or attendance rate for K-5, K-8, and 6-8; 
    3. closing the achievement gap for all students; and 
    4. closing the achievement gap for the historically underperforming students. 
    These new AMOs will be used as the basis for the new school designations that replaced the school improvement designations.  The new designations for Title I schools are listed below. 
    • Reward – High Achievement
    • Reward – High Progress
    • Focus
    • Priority
    Please click here to review the chart that explains the criteria for each designation, the requirements that must be followed once a school is identified as focus or priority, the criteria for exit and the state supports that will be put into place for those schools identified as focus or priority.
    The following Title I schools were identified as priority schools.
    School Name
    Pittsburgh Faison K-5
    Pittsburgh Brashear High School
    Pittsburgh Perry High School
    Pittsburgh Westinghouse 6-12
    Pittsburgh King PreK-8
    The following Title I schools were identified as focus schools.
    School Name
    Pittsburgh Arlington PreK-8
    Pittsburgh Arsenal PreK-5
    Pittsburgh Carrick High School
    Pittsburgh Langley K-8
    Pittsburgh Lincoln K-5
    Pittsburgh Miller PreK-5
    Pittsburgh Milliones 6-12
    Pittsburgh Montessori PreK-8
    Pittsburgh Morrow K-7
    Pittsburgh Spring Hill K-5
    Pittsburgh Woolslair K-5

     Additionally, all public schools in the state will receive a School Performance Profile score based on 100 points. This score will be considered the school’s academic performance score, and while not the criteria for determination of Reward, Focus or Priority status, it details student performance through scoring of multiple measures that define achievement. The School Performance Profile also includes a list of supports, materials and resources that schools can access to help aid them in improving student achievement.
    Please click on the link to learn more about your school's specific profile.

File Library